Tank class for newbie

thsscapi
Newcomer
Team Name: Rustle

Tank class for newbie

Post by thsscapi » May 13th, 2016, 9:05 am

Hi, I'm new to the game, only tried CBT for a bit then kind of stopped for quite a while.

In most games I always pick the tanky class, usually some kind of Knight or Paladin. I would like to build such a character here as well.

I understand that all Swordsman are generally already very tanky, and that having low DPS even as a tank is usually more trouble than it's worth. Is there any Swordsman build that would be able to easily facetank or aggro mobs easier than other builds while having good-enough DPS? I've looked at various builds and it seems those with Peltasta and Rodelero are most suitable, even though Rodelero seems kind of useless as of now.

I also learnt that Clerics are usually the ones protecting the party. I would then have to ask, are there any Cleric builds that would be able to tank?

Is the Corsair's Jolly Roger skill worth considering in an ideal tank build? It seems like a really good skill to have on your first character, but does having Corsair in a tank build make it much less useful?

Any help and advice is much appreciated. Thanks!
Suzushii
Apprentice
Favorite Class: Fencer
Server: [EU] Fedimian
Team Name: BJD

Re: Tank class for newbie

Post by Suzushii » July 4th, 2016, 11:14 pm

If you are looking Cleric which may be a tank, I recommend you check for Paladin. You must remember that tank here primarily has the task to collect mobs and keep it. Therefore taunt is the basis and it is only a swordsman - shield buckler. There are plenty of specs and methods, including the use of two-handed weapons. However, each tank must be Peltast C1, because

Swash Buckling
Guardian
Shield Guard